Meet our team of experienced supervisors

Dr Merwe Hartslief


Meet our course director

Merwe Hartslief graduated from medical school in 1997 and graduated from surgical training in 2006 in South Africa and worked in private practice for 6 yrs before emigrating to Australia.

Currently working full time in public service at Cairns hospital as a general surgeon.

My interests are trauma surgery, austere medicine, laparoscopic surgery and the unique challenges of regional and rural surgery. I enjoy being a true generalist and try to stay current in most aspects of general surgery.

I am also serving in the Army Reserves as a military trauma surgeon.

Meet some of the team

Dr Merwe Hartslief


Meei Yeung


Julie Howle


Pranavan Palamuthusingam


Omar Mansour

MBBS MIPH (Clin Ed) MSc (Surg Ed) FRACS

Andrew Hattam


Meet our course convenor

Alan de Costa graduated in Ireland and trained in general surgery on the National Health Service UK in the West Midlands.  He commenced practice in Australia as one of the foundation surgeons in Mt Druitt Hospital in 1982.  He relocated to Cairns in 2000 as a VMO to Cairns Hospital and in private practice.  He joined James Cook University in 2011.  His interests have been with abdominal and emergency surgery.

Alan De Costa


The following surgeons have attended as faculty during previous ASE courses.

  • Alan de Costa OAM FRACS
  • Roxanne Wu FRACS
  • Merwe Hartslief M.B.Ch.B.  M.Med FRACS
  • Tim Elston FRACS
  • Casper Pretorius FRACS, MB ChB, M Med (Surg), FCS(SA)
  • Harish Kumar MBBS, FRCS [ED], MD, MS, FRCS, MBA, FRACS
  • Heng-Chin Chiam FRACS, FICS, MMed (Clin Epi)
  • Anthony Leslie BSc, MBBS, FRACS (Vasc)
  • John Knott MBBS FRCS FRACS
  • Sherab Bhutia MBBS MS FRCS FRACS (Vascular)
  • Ben Woolven BSc BMBS FRACS
  • Sivasuriya Sivaganesh MS (Col) FCSSL FRCS (Eng & Edin) PhD (Cantab)
  • Meei Yeung MBBS FRACS
  • Suki Ahluwalia BSc, MBBS, MSc, DOHNS, FRCS (Eng), FRACS
  • Rajeev Parameswaran BSc MBBS FRCS MPhil FRCS
  • Andrew Hattam BSc(Hons) MBBS GradDipAppAnatDiss PhD
  • Simon Pridgeon FRCS
  • Pieter Prinsloo FRACS
  • Richard Hanney MBBS FRACS FACS
  • Julie Howle MBBS MS FRACS
  • Nathan Brunott FRACS
  • Angela Robson FRACS
  • Skandarupan Jayaratnam MBBS FRANZCOG
  • Pranavan Palamuthusingam MBBS FRACS
  • Omar Mansour FRACS
  • Ken Loi FRACS
  • Eddie Shi FRACS
  • Boris Ruggiero FRACS
  • Gamal Moosa FRACS
  • Kamal Heer FRCS FRACS
  • Larry Perret FRACS
  • Aloka Pathirana FRCS
  • Bawantha Gamage FRCS
  • Deepaka Weerasekera FRCS
  • Simon Curley FRACS
  • Ajay John Fracs
  • Sabu Thomas FRACS
  • Sanjeev Naidoo FRACS
  • Ajith Malalesekera FRCS
  • AJ Green FRACS

Want to join the team?

Click the button below to fill in the form and tell us about yourself

Registration opens 1 January!

Don't miss out!